Przejdź do głównej treści

Widok zawartości stron Widok zawartości stron

Jagiellonian University receives the ELSEVIER Research Impact Leaders Award 2020

Jagiellonian University receives the ELSEVIER Research Impact Leaders Award 2020

The Jagiellonian University was awarded at a special gala organised during the conference Polish universities in a global perspective rankings and strategic management of higher education institutions, organised jointly by the Perspektywy Education Foundation, Conference of Rectors of Academic Schools in Poland and Polish Accreditation Committee.

Research Impact Leaders Award, established in 2016, is part of Elsevier’s global initiative aimed to support research and develop all branches of science. It is a token of appreciation for distinguished research institutions that have a great impact on the development of knowledge and contribute to increasing the visibility of Polish research. The award is given in six categories: Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Engineering and Technical Sciences, the Humanities, Medical and Health Sciences, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences.

This year, the Jagiellonian University received an award for its accomplishments in the area of Medical and Health Sciences. It was presented to the JU Vice-Rector for University Development Prof. Jarosław Górniak. Two other nominees included the Pomeranian Medical University in Szczecin and Wroclaw Medical University.

‘Papers regarding this branch of science make up over 40% of total JU publications and nearly 20% of JU publications featured in the top ten percent of academic journals. Additionally, 35% of Jagiellonian University’s international cooperation is related to medical and health sciences. JU authors have been published mostly in Folia Medica Cracoviensia, Kardiologia Polska and Polish Archives of Internal Medicine. The most published authors include Prof. Dariusz Dudek, Prof. Anetta Undas and Prof. Michał Pędziwiatr’, reads the award justification letter.

Other awarded higher education institutions included the University of Rzeszów (Agricultural and Environmental Sciences), Lublin University of Technology (Engineering and Technical Sciences), SWPS University of Social Sciences and Humanities (the Humanities), University of Bialystok (Natural Sciences) and Częstochowa University of Technology (Social Sciences).